hi guys (and gals). brand new to the forums, in fact i don't even have an axim yet. i am seriously close however. i did stumble across this on ebay. read some reviews of the game and it seems to be very good. i've played age of empires on my desktop and love the game. the fact that they have this for pocket pcs is amazing.
i don't know if giving a link to an ebay auction is legit for forum rules or not, so i won't post a link until it's safe to do so (i'll check forum rules or maybe a mod can tell me).
someone is selling this program on ebay for $3.99 and it's a download. dunno if it is completly legit or not, but i did e-mail him to ask if it was for the xscale/arm processor or mips. he e-mailed me back and i will post below.
if someone can tell me if it is ok to post the link to the auction, let me know otherwise i'll hold off.
great site, i'll be hanging around frequently in hopes of getting an axim.
[QUOTE]I have both versions, strongarm/xscale and mips, and its a download.
You can
have both versions if you would like, Thank you.
>From: ***@2xtreme.net
>To: ***@hotmail.com
>Subject: Question for seller -- Item #****
>Date: Thu, 24 Apr 2003 02:09:52 PDT
>
>hi. is this the strongarm/xscale version or is it the MIPS version?
also.
>how is the product delivered? cd or downloaded? thanks.
>
>travis
[/QUOTE]
[B][FONT=arial][COLOR=red]I am not completely sure about posting the link, but I can tell you that the auction is probably illegal and breaking copyright laws. [/COLOR][/FONT][/B]
__________________ There are only two truly infinite things, the universe and human stupidity; I am unsure of the former.
-Albert Einstein
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i won't post the link, but it's not hard to find. i have been e-mailing him trying to get a little more information on how he can distribute 30 copies (it's a dutch auction for 30). he did state that it was legit, but he didn't elaborate on how. i have pressed him for a little more info, i'll pass it along if he e-mails back.
[B][FONT=arial][COLOR=red]As far as I can see, there is no way the auction is legal. It may be legit, as in you actually get the copy, but it is not "legal". When you purchase the product, you are only allowed to use that product for personal use. Not buy the product and get your money back by selling 30 copies of the same product to other people.[/COLOR][/FONT][/B]
__________________ There are only two truly infinite things, the universe and human stupidity; I am unsure of the former.
-Albert Einstein
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[B][FONT=arial][COLOR=darkred]Thanks, but I am going to have to change it yet again. Now people are complaining about the red. *sigh*[/COLOR][/FONT][/B]\
[B][FONT=arial][COLOR=firebrick]Well, the dark red is hideous and appears to be brown.[/COLOR][/FONT][/B]
[B][FONT=arial][COLOR=crimson]I may just end up going back to dark blue, even though it doesn't match my avatar.[/COLOR][/FONT][/B]
__________________ There are only two truly infinite things, the universe and human stupidity; I am unsure of the former.
-Albert Einstein
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Oh, Yeah. And some complained about the [COLOR=orangered]orange-red[/COLOR] being too bright.
And [COLOR=deepred]deepred[/COLOR] doesn't fit your avatar.[COLOR=crimson]Did you use crimson?[/COLOR] I guess you did. You should just stick to your avatar color. It is, afterall, who you are. ;)
__________________ What God has brought together, let man not part. Matt 19:6
enlighten me a bit. i know warez is illegal, but what exactly is it and how would i be able to tell if this was something illegal. will there be a unique registration number given with each installation? would i be held responsible for it even if there is no way of knowing it is an illegal copy? should it come with manual, etc? thanks. i'm feeling more and more suspicious, but i'm still curious.
[QUOTE][i]Originally posted by lobo_pac [/i]
[B]enlighten me a bit. i know warez is illegal, but what exactly is it and how would i be able to tell if this was something illegal. will there be a unique registration number given with each installation? would i be held responsible for it even if there is no way of knowing it is an illegal copy? should it come with manual, etc? thanks. i'm feeling more and more suspicious, but i'm still curious. [/B][/QUOTE]
[B][FONT=arial][COLOR=crimson][SIZE=1]You are given a unique registration code after buying. The fact that he is selling 30 copies for only four dollars each is enough to let you know that it is an illegal copy. More than likely, though, it is not a cd copy, it is just a download. If it is a cd copy, and you can tell it is a burned cd, then it is warez. [/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/B]
__________________ There are only two truly infinite things, the universe and human stupidity; I am unsure of the former.
-Albert Einstein
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
It says in the auction:
"completely registered version" Seems to me that when you buy software you are the one that gets to register it. I would not buy it from that person.