Notices

Water Fountain General Chit/Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-04, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Aximsite Rookie
 
x3xuser's Avatar
DAP Freshman
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is ALLOFMP3.COM legit?

I found this website from a link posted by atomicflounder. You can download music for only 1¢ per 1MB. Since an average song encoded in MP3 @ 128kp/s is about 5MB, that's equivalent to about 5¢ per song. Is this for real? Is this legit? Has anyone else try this?
__________________
Best regards.
X3XUSER
Axim X30H
Motorola V600
Dane-Elec SD 512MB
KingMax SD 1GB
RhinoSkin
Brando Screen Protector
x3xuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsor Ads
Old 09-11-04, 01:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
jpmarth
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmmmm....

What's that saying? "If it's too good to be true it probably is."

Sounds like a site to stear clear of. Especially since when I tried to visit the site it is no longer active.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-04, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Aximsite Rookie
 
x3xuser's Avatar
DAP Freshman
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was just browsing this website this morning...let me check again...it's still active.
__________________
Best regards.
X3XUSER
Axim X30H
Motorola V600
Dane-Elec SD 512MB
KingMax SD 1GB
RhinoSkin
Brando Screen Protector
x3xuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-04, 02:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Aximsite Minor League
 
BLHJr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 153
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by x3xuser
I was just browsing this website this morning...let me check again...it's still active.
This site has been reviewed many times, and the conclusion is that it is legal. Try going to the Dell DJ Site and in their forums is a very long discussion as to the merits of this site.
BLHJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-04, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Aximsite Veteran
 
fulltext's Avatar
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,087
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by BLHJr
This site has been reviewed many times, and the conclusion is that it is legal. Try going to the Dell DJ Site and in their forums is a very long discussion as to the merits of this site.
Well, it is legit in so far as Russian copyright law.

I wouldn't use a regualr credit card nor Paypal account with it either. Get some of those 1-time disposable cc numbers from your card isssuer, just to be safe.
__________________
So many programs, not enough ROM
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- extreme hardware chick


"Once you can accept the universe as matter expanding into nothing that is something,
wearing stripes with plaid comes easy." - Albert Einstein
fulltext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-04, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Aximsite Administrator
 
deftech's Avatar
Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,635
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

Awards Showcase
Moderator Medal Admin Medal Bronze Poster 
Total Awards: 3

Technically speaking, it is legal because the site pays licensing fees to the Russian-equivalent of the RIAA. This organization then pays the appropriate licensing fees to an internation organization, then to whoever and whoever and whoever..... until the royalties finally reach their destination.

It's one of those things that is legal as of now, but could easily change as newer and newer international copyright laws come out. More or less a "gray area." Also, the RIAA is basically not touching international copyright infringement yet.
__________________
Jordan M. Wigley
Aximsite.com
Email: jordan AT aximsite.com


.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Come join the friendly community at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
deftech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-04, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
LeggNet
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Allofmp3.com is an on-line music service based in Moscow, Russia. The service started in 2001.

When we first discovered this site about a year go, we were convinced that Allofmp3 is some kind of illegal operation. But by investigating this service further we came to a surprising conclusion.

Allofmp3 has signed agreements with Russian copyrights holders. They can legally offer music by all artists and from all labels.

In the past few months Allofmp3 has finally been discovered by the media. Smh.com, The Register and G4Techtv have published articles covering Allofmp3.

Allofmp3 is (or should we say was?) one of the best kept secrets of the internet. A music service with unique features. It sets an example for every other music service.
Links:
http://www.museekster.com/allofmp3info.htm
http://www.museekster.com/allofmp3faq.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-04, 05:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Aximsite Prospect
 
atomicflounder's Avatar
DAP Site StaffDAP Site StaffDAP Site Reviewer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by LeggNet
Links:
http://www.museekster.com/allofmp3info.htm
http://www.museekster.com/allofmp3faq.htm

Yeah, I reviewed those articles before I started using it. As far as I can tell, the RIAA has no say over this site. Interesting as well to remember that russian currency isn't worth as much as american currency. I forget exactly my reasoning for this, but it made sense at the time.

Until I hear otherwise from a reliable source, I will keep DL-ing from allofmp3. The allofmp3 explorer is pretty nice, put songs onto the list at work, while they download at home.

I have done much research into this, its far more legit then Kazaa, and the other free ones.
atomicflounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-04, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Aximsite Minor League
 
DrGonzo2k2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 181
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Big Smile ALLofMP3 is totally Legal!

When I first heard about that site I was totally skeptical; however , after some investigation I have come to find that it is totally legit. One of my co-workers is from the former Soviet Union and he explained to me that in Russia the laws regarding downloading music are similar to laws regarding broadcasting music here. It is simply considered a transmission and thus not subject to the high royalites that companies like Itunes have to pay. I have yet to download anything from this site, but my co-worker uses it all the time. He says he pays with his credit card and has never had a problem. Your credit card charge may vary slightly from the ammount you purchase due to the exchange rate. For example if you buy $10 worth they may charge you for say $10.30 or so.

For What It's Worth,
Dr. Gonzo
DrGonzo2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Sponsor Ads

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Copyright © 2003-09 LeckMedia, LLC